Posts Tagged ‘#universityofportland’

The Beacon has won two Gold Circle Awards and a Certificate of Merit from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, which is based at the Graduate School of Journalism of Columbia University in New York City.

philip award

Philip Ellefson Beacon News Editor

Philip Ellefson 

In the category of Editorial Writing, Philip Ellefson won Third Place for “RPP Hindered Vital Inclusion Discussions.”

Screen shot 2013-10-30 at 5.48.06 PM

Megan Lester and Kelsey Thomas won Third Place in the News Feature category for “Nothing to Rave About.”

Megan Lester

Megan Lester

Kelsey Thomas

Kelsey Thomas


megan award

Lydia Laythe won a Certificate of Merit for news writing for “Chiles Incident Sparks Outrage.”

Lydia Laythe

Lydia Laythe



Congrats to all!

Read Full Post »

It was an embarrassment of riches at today’s statewide collegiate awards ceremony of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association. The Beacon won 27 awards  including First Place for General Excellence.

What the judges said about The Beacon:
Cropped-JudgesBeaconComments.jpg large

List of awards:


Screen shot 2013-05-10 at 10.42.25 PM

General Excellence– Beacon Staff

Best News Story– “We all want something better.” Philip Ellefson, Laura Frazier, Jackie Jeffers

Best Section -Beacon news section Laura Frazier, Beacon staff

Best Special Section– “What’s in our air?”- Rosemary Peters

Best Series- Ongoing coverage of nondiscrimination policy and Redefine Purple Pride- Kelsey Thomas, Philip Ellefson,Laura Frazier

Best Editorial-“It is time for our nondiscrimination policy to change.” – Sarah Hansell

Best Design– Shellie Adams, Liz Tertadian, Laura Frazier, Rachel McIntosh

Best website– Et Begert

Best Review–  “The Casual Vacancy” – Kate Stringer

Best Spot News Photo– “She said yes!”- Jackie Jeffers

3rd Place Braeking News photo by Jackie Jeffers

1st Place Breaking News photo by Jackie Jeffers

Best Sports Photo– “Round Two!”- Jackie Jeffers

Best Feature Photo– Athletes and their tattoos- Joey Solano

Best Photography- Jackie Jeffers

Best cartoon – “Theology 101” – Ann Truong



News story– “Access Denied”- Philip Ellefson

Writing-“Students cooperate, but still can’t party”- Kelsey Thomas

Section- “VOTE”- Shellie Adams, Kelsey Thomas, Beacon staff

Graphic– “VOTE”- Shellie Adams

Special Section– “What’s on your bucket list?”- Shellie Adams + Beacon staff

Columnist– “Keep your legislation out of my body, thanks” – Amanda Munro

Photography– Joey Solano

Feature Photo– “Elderly Prom” – Stephanie Matusiefsky


Feature Story: “Molly’s Legacy: Hope for Hait”i- Kate Stringer

Editorial: “Theo 101 change limits diversity and stifles thought”- Will Lyons

Columnist: “Rape is not a joke” – Lydia Laythe

Sports Photo– Men’s soccer- Joey Solano

Cartoon- “Coffee Crawl”- Ann Truong

Beacon staffers Nastacia Voisin, Laura Frazier, Liz Tertadian and Kelsey Thomas car barely hold the 27 ONPA awards The Beacon won

Beacon staffers Nastacia Voisin, Laura Frazier, Liz Tertadian and Kelsey Thomas car barely hold the 27 ONPA awards The Beacon won


Read Full Post »