Posts Tagged ‘ONPA’

It was an embarrassment of riches at today’s statewide collegiate awards ceremony of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association. The Beacon won 27 awards ¬†including First Place for General Excellence.

What the judges said about The Beacon:
Cropped-JudgesBeaconComments.jpg large

List of awards:


Screen shot 2013-05-10 at 10.42.25 PM

General Excellence– Beacon Staff

Best News Story– “We all want something better.” Philip Ellefson, Laura Frazier, Jackie Jeffers

Best Section -Beacon news section Laura Frazier, Beacon staff

Best Special Section– “What’s in our air?”- Rosemary Peters

Best Series- Ongoing coverage of nondiscrimination policy and Redefine Purple Pride- Kelsey Thomas, Philip Ellefson,Laura Frazier

Best Editorial-“It is time for our nondiscrimination policy to change.” – Sarah Hansell

Best Design– Shellie Adams, Liz Tertadian, Laura Frazier, Rachel McIntosh

Best website– Et Begert

Best Review– ¬†“The Casual Vacancy” – Kate Stringer

Best Spot News Photo– “She said yes!”- Jackie Jeffers

3rd Place Braeking News photo by Jackie Jeffers

1st Place Breaking News photo by Jackie Jeffers

Best Sports Photo– “Round Two!”- Jackie Jeffers

Best Feature Photo– Athletes and their tattoos- Joey Solano

Best Photography- Jackie Jeffers

Best cartoon – “Theology 101” – Ann Truong



News story– “Access Denied”- Philip Ellefson

Writing-“Students cooperate, but still can’t party”- Kelsey Thomas

Section- “VOTE”- Shellie Adams, Kelsey Thomas, Beacon staff

Graphic– “VOTE”- Shellie Adams

Special Section– “What’s on your bucket list?”- Shellie Adams + Beacon staff

Columnist– “Keep your legislation out of my body, thanks” – Amanda Munro

Photography– Joey Solano

Feature Photo– “Elderly Prom” – Stephanie Matusiefsky


Feature Story: “Molly’s Legacy: Hope for Hait”i- Kate Stringer

Editorial: “Theo 101 change limits diversity and stifles thought”- Will Lyons

Columnist: “Rape is not a joke” – Lydia Laythe

Sports Photo– Men’s soccer- Joey Solano

Cartoon- “Coffee Crawl”- Ann Truong

Beacon staffers Nastacia Voisin, Laura Frazier, Liz Tertadian and Kelsey Thomas car barely hold the 27 ONPA awards The Beacon won

Beacon staffers Nastacia Voisin, Laura Frazier, Liz Tertadian and Kelsey Thomas car barely hold the 27 ONPA awards The Beacon won


Read Full Post »

The Beacon took home 22 (!) awards from the statewide collegiate competition sponsored by the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association, including nine FIRST PLACE awards in the following categories:

  • Best Writing- Laura Frazier
  • Best News Story- Consequences: Drinking without thinking by Laura Frazier
  • Best Feature Story- Back to The Bluff after ‘Big Bang’ break by Natalie Wheeler
  • Best Sports Story- Finding the balance by Bruce Garlinghouse
  • Best Section- Hannah Gray, Rosemary Peters
  • Best Special Section- Elizabeth Tertadian, Sarah Hansell, Kate Peifer, Sports staff
  • Best Series- Rip City Classic by Jason Hortsch, Kyle Cape-Lindelin, Bruce Garlinghouse, John McCarty
  • Best Columnist- Caitlin Yilek
  • Best Spot News Photo- Christina Nelson

Laura Frazier, Natalie Wheeler, Shellie Adams, Jason Hortsch, Liz Tertadian and Rosemary Peters bask in the glory after the ONPA awards ceremony on May 11.

The Beacon won the following SECOND PLACE AWARDS:

  • Best Writing – Natalie Wheeler
  • Best Feature- Impossible is nothing by Laura Frazier
  • General Excellence
  • Best Series- Bon Appetit by Natalie Wheeler, Will Lyons, Rachel McIntosh
  • Best Review- Po’Shines by Jocelyne LaFortune and Caitlin Yilek
  • Best Cartooning- Ann Truong
  • Best House Ad- Student Media Open House by Rosemary Peters

Honorable Mention:

  • Best Section- Catilin Yilek, Rosemary Peters
  • Best News Story- Would you pay $6.95 for this? by Natalie Wheeler
  • Best Editorial- Caitlin Yilek and Rosemary Peters
  • Best Graphic- Shellie Adams
  • Best Sports Photo- Bill Michielsen
  • Best Cartooning- Ann Truong

Congratulations everyone!

Read Full Post »