Archive for April, 2017

Some photos from our Goodbye Party…


2016-17 Editor-in-Chief Malika Andrews reflects on her time at The Beacon before turning the job  (and crown)  over to 2017-18 EIC Rachel Rippetoe



Managing Editor Clare Duffy offers advice and encouragement to her successor Olivia Sanchez (right)



Rachel Rippetoe presents a gift to the new Living editor, Hannah Sievert.



Seniors with Beacon adviser Nancy Copic. L to R:  Kristen Garcia, Ben Arthur, Cheyenne Schoen, Nancy Copic, Malika Andrews, Sal Aversa, Clare Duffy



Group hug


Read Full Post »

Top (left to right): Rachel Rippetoe, Ben Arthur, Olivia Sanchez
Front row: Erin Bothwell, Clare Duffy, Malika Andrews, Sam Keeler
Photo by Annika Gordon


The New York Times has awarded 2016-17 Beacon Editor-in-Chief Malika Andrews a James Reston Reporting Fellowship. Her 10-week paid internship will begin shortly after she graduates from UP in May. She will cover sports on a national and international level.

Andrews is among several Beacon staffers who have been chosen for media-related internships this summer. Other placements include

Clare Duffy- Portland Business Journal

Ben Arthur- The Denver Post

Olivia Sanchez- The Portland Tribune

Rachel Rippetoe- The Eugene Register-Guard

Sam Keeler- Downtown Music Marketing Group (New York)

Erin Bothwell – Chamber Music Northwest

Duffy (managing editor) and Arthur (sports editor)  also graduate in May.  Rachel Rippetoe (Living editor) returns to The Beacon next year as editor-in-chief. Olivia Sanchez (Opinions editor) has been promoted to managing editor. Erin Bothwell is entering her second year as community engagement editor at The Beacon.  Sam Keeler is a photojournalist.


Read Full Post »

This Annika Gordon photo of the UP Men’s soccer team after winning the WCC title won First Place for Breaking News Photo (university with fewer than 10,000 students). In all, The Beacon took First Place awards in six categories in the regional Mark of Excellence Awards sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.

UPDATE (May 26, 2017)

Malika Andrews won First Place in the national Mark of Excellence competition for General News Reporting (schools fewer than 10,000 undergraduates) for “Disconnected: Black students on The Bluff feel they don’t belong.”

SPJ plaque

The Beacon also had two pieces of content place as national finalists:

Annika Gordon’s photo (above) was a finalist for Breaking News Photography.

“Students dig up America’s racist past” by Jenna Rossiter and Clare Duffy was a finalist for Feature Writing.

You’ll find the complete list of national winners here.


The Beacon has won six First Place awards in the regional Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence contest, and now advances to the national SPJ competition in the following categories:


Small university (9,999 or fewer undergraduates):

National winners will be notified in the late spring and will be recognized at the Excellence in Journalism conference in Anaheim, Calif, in September.

Beacon content was also a regional finalist (Second or Third Place) in the following categories:

  • Breaking News Reporting (Clare Duffy, Hannah Baade)
  • In-depth Reporting(Clare Duffy, Malika Andrews, Rachel Rippetoe, Annika Gordon)
  • Sports Writing (Malika Andrews)
  • Best Use of Multimedia (Cheyenne Schoen, Jeff Braccia)
  • Online News Reporting (Clare Duffy,Hannah Baade)
  • Online In-depth Reporting (Clare Duffy, Malika Andrews, Rachel Rippetoe, Hannah Baade, Jenna Rossiter)

The Mark of Excellence Awards for Region 10 involved student media entries from colleges and universities in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. See complete regional contest results here.

Read Full Post »


Competing against student media at colleges and universities in five states, The Beacon has placed either First, Second or Third in the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Awards for Region 10 (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Alaska) in the following categories, for a total of 13 winning entries:

Results will be announced May 6 at the Washington Collegiate Journalism Conference at the University of Washington. First Place winners will advance to the national Mark of Excellence competition.

Read Full Post »