Archive for May, 2012

The Beacon took home 22 (!) awards from the statewide collegiate competition sponsored by the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association, including nine FIRST PLACE awards in the following categories:

  • Best Writing- Laura Frazier
  • Best News Story- Consequences: Drinking without thinking by Laura Frazier
  • Best Feature Story- Back to The Bluff after ‘Big Bang’ break by Natalie Wheeler
  • Best Sports Story- Finding the balance by Bruce Garlinghouse
  • Best Section- Hannah Gray, Rosemary Peters
  • Best Special Section- Elizabeth Tertadian, Sarah Hansell, Kate Peifer, Sports staff
  • Best Series- Rip City Classic by Jason Hortsch, Kyle Cape-Lindelin, Bruce Garlinghouse, John McCarty
  • Best Columnist- Caitlin Yilek
  • Best Spot News Photo- Christina Nelson

Laura Frazier, Natalie Wheeler, Shellie Adams, Jason Hortsch, Liz Tertadian and Rosemary Peters bask in the glory after the ONPA awards ceremony on May 11.

The Beacon won the following SECOND PLACE AWARDS:

  • Best Writing – Natalie Wheeler
  • Best Feature- Impossible is nothing by Laura Frazier
  • General Excellence
  • Best Series- Bon Appetit by Natalie Wheeler, Will Lyons, Rachel McIntosh
  • Best Review- Po’Shines by Jocelyne LaFortune and Caitlin Yilek
  • Best Cartooning- Ann Truong
  • Best House Ad- Student Media Open House by Rosemary Peters

Honorable Mention:

  • Best Section- Catilin Yilek, Rosemary Peters
  • Best News Story- Would you pay $6.95 for this? by Natalie Wheeler
  • Best Editorial- Caitlin Yilek and Rosemary Peters
  • Best Graphic- Shellie Adams
  • Best Sports Photo- Bill Michielsen
  • Best Cartooning- Ann Truong

Congratulations everyone!

Read Full Post »