Archive for May, 2010

“Collegiate Day,” sponsored by the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association, concluded with the annual awards ceremony for its statewide competition. Let’s just say it was a good day for The Beacon:

First Place – General Excellence, non-daily newspaper  (Beacon staff)

First Place – Best News Story (“Celebrating Molly” – Andy Matarrese)

First Place – Best Sports Story (“Davis up for CLASS award” – Lisa McMahan)

First Place- Best Review (“Where the Wild Things Are” – Elliot Boswell)

First Place – Best Spot News Photo (“Car fire remains mystery” – Erica Ellingsen)


Second Place- Best Editorial (“Honoring Molly Hightower’s service, sacrifice”- Jon Hiser)

Second Place- Best Spot News Photo ( “Junior Parents Weekend goes off without a hitch” – Kevin Kadooka)

Second Place- Best Cartooning (Samantha Heathcote)


Honorable Mention:

Best News Story (“Students skip class to honor MLK”  -Hannah Gray)

Best Sports Photo (“Pilot baseball opens with three wins”-Erica Ellingsen)

Best Special Section (“Moving on UP” – Rosemary Peters &  Beacon staff)

Best Feature Photo (“Pump up the purple” homecoming spread-Erica Ellingsen, Reilly Hourigan, Jordan Schager)

Best Design (Oct 8, 2009 & Jan 28, 2010 issues- Andy Matarrese, Jordan Schager, Beacon staff)

Best Photography – Reilly Hourigan

Best House Ad (“Not on campus to pick up The Beacon?”- Andy Matarrese)

Read Full Post »