Archive for April, 2010

Happy trails, Andy!

Read Full Post »

Interesting piece on The Huffington Post – College  by the student editor of North by Northwestern on how college journalists could teach the “mainstream media” a thing or two:


Read Full Post »

Click here to get to the special section on Issuu.com. From there, you can also download it as a PDF file and print it.

2009-2010 Beacon Staff

Read Full Post »

Watch for it this Thursday, April 15!

First issue of The Beacon- 1935

Beacon staff 1948

2001 staffers celebrate award-Nathan Dinsdale, Casey White, Sarah Ogle, Clinton Vining(1998) Joe Freeman-former Beacon asst. news editor, sports editor and news editor. CUrrently covers the Trailblazers for The Oregonian

Joe Freeman

(1976 photo)Former Beacon sports editor and editor-in-chief Pete Lesage, currently front page and Sunday editor for The Oregonian

1986-87 Beacon editor-in-chief Dan Christopherson, currently a sportscaster at KOIN TV

Read Full Post »

Congratulations to Andy Matarrese and Hannah Gray!

They each placed third in Society of Professional Journalists ‘”Mark of Excellence” awards for Region 10 (Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Montana) in the following categories:

1)Editorial Writing (Andy)

2)General Reporting (Hannah) – Hannah’s entry was her Oct 2009 Beacon story about sex trafficking in Portland and some UP students’ efforts to raise awareness about the issue.

Andy's Award

SPJ announced the winners and runners-up at a luncheon in Seattle over the  weekend.

Mark of Excellence- Editorial Writing

• First Place:The Daily Evergreen, Editorial Board,Washington State University.

• Second Place: In the Loop, Editorial Board, Whitworth University.
• Third Place: The Beacon, Staff, University of Portland.

Hannah's award

Mark of Excellence- General News Reporting
• First Place: Dead in the Water; Alumni saddened by loss; Football to blame; Grassroots – by Christian Caple and Maks

Goldenshteyn, University of Washington.
• Second Place: Gay to straight lecture draws mixed response – by Andrew Sheeler, University of Alaska Fairbanks.
• Third Place: Sex Trafficking in Portland – by Hannah Gray, University of Portland.

For a complete list of award winners in all categories, go to this SPJ page.

Next Up: ONPA  (Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association) Awards on May 7th

Read Full Post »